US Open W Final (Australia > Murrikkka, you mad bro?)

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.

NAMO

Sicc OG
Apr 11, 2009
http://www.foxsports.com.au/tennis/...flushing-meadows/story-e6frf4mu-1226134481456

Samantha Stosur beats Serena Williams 6-2 6-3 in US Open final at Flushing Meadows

Samantha Stosur has become Australia's first female grand slam singles champion in 31 years after pulling off a stunning upset over American Serena Williams at the 2011 US Open final.

Stosur produced the match of her life against a nervous Williams to win 6-2 6-3 in one hour and 13 minutes in front of 23,000 people on Arthur Ashe Stadium.

The result made her Australia's first grand slam champion since Evonne Goolagong Cawley secured her second Wimbledon title in 1980.

It was the first time the nation had claimed the women's singles crown at the tournament since Margaret Court Smith in 1973.

"Ever since I started playing ... this was a dream of mine to be here one day," Stosur said after the match.

The composure Stosur showed in capturing her maiden grand slam revived memories of Lleyton Hewitt's win in the final on the very same court against Pete Sampras a decade ago.

However the match was not without controversy with Williams berating the chair umpire after receiving a one-point penalty for verbal hindrance.

felt the noise going right through my chest it was so loud I didn't really know what to think I just tried to stay calm and think about the next point," Stosur told Fox Sports.

"Obviously that fired her up a bit and I was hoping she wasn't going to get too angry and start playing unbelievable ... I was just happy I was able to close it out.''

The incident seemed to rattle Stosur for a couple of games but she held tough and took a break for a 4-3 lead in the second set.

"I was just kind of there,"Stosur said. "I do know the rule, but it's not something I've ever had to deal with before."