MASTERING

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.
Mar 11, 2004
We are almost finished with the album and its the first time we gunna get it mastered... i was wondering what to send in? the .Wav file of the ProTools Session? and do any1 have any reccomendations?

im also lookin for reccomendations for a printer.. we only printin a small amount (we will re-print once we see how fast they go)

Apr 7, 2006
Send in the bounced-out 24 bit wav file from your session...

...also make sure nothing is clipping!!!... this happens a lot, especially when a limiter or other plug-ins are placed on the master bus...

Typically, a decent mix need only to be half the volume of the mastered version... so don't worry about loudness - let the mix breathe...

Jan 6, 2004
www.myspace.com
Typically, a decent mix need only to be half the volume of the mastered version... so don't worry about loudness - let the mix breathe...
as a mix engineer I dont agree with this statement at all... Your right about letting the mix breathe and definately no clipping (that should be a no brainer) but 1/2 the volume? You want the mix to be hot, obviously lower than the matered product but if its that low its not gonna sound right. That is alot of making up to do Limiters.. Any antenuation (sp?, im loaded lol) over 4 or 5 decibels is clearly audible...

To the poster - u still need mastering?

Apr 5, 2008
Yeah thats true. I used to leave hella room and make it up with the limiter. You can do that, but just turn it up as loud as possible without clipping before you use the limiter to squash it.

Oct 8, 2002
www.408inc.com