Felix Hernandez and the Cy Young

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.
May 9, 2002
The M's stink. Lets just get that out of the way first and foremost. With that said, Felix is one of the very few reasons I continue to watch this putrid team. He is money. He has also been in CYA talks. Some say he wont win because of his W/L. Other say he SHOULD win because of everything ELSE stat wise. Here is a story on ESPN about the situation.

Greinke won it last year with an OK W/L record. However, the committee realized he was working with one of the worst offenses, and with the lowest RS in the MLB. Well, Felix is doing the same thing this year. Seattle is on pace to have the worst offensive numbers as a whole since 1973.

Felix Hernandez's Cy Young stats

By Johnette Howard
Special to ESPN.com
Archive

I love baseball. As a writer, I've always loved the Bill James creation story too: Kansas City night watchman self-publishes his deep-thinking observations in something he called "The Baseball Abstract," gets discovered the way starlets used to at soda fountain counters and goes on to a blockbuster career as a best-selling author, prophet/heretic, and, now, a senior advisor for the Boston Red Sox.

But as a fan, I never paid much attention to the skirmishes between the sabermetrics movement that James boosted 30 years ago and the traditionalists who complain the numerologists are flogging the heartbeat out of the game. Knock yourselves out arguing, I always figured. I'm allergic to math. Until this week, if you'd rattled off some advanced sabermetrics terms such as WAR, VORP, RISP, WHIP, I might have said, "Love ya, miss ya, see ya, pal" and run the other away.