Interview with Graffiti Artist JASPER GEENHUIZEN

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.
Jun 22, 2012
Interview of Jasper Geenhuizen a gifted light graffiti artist from Netherlands. Astonishing pictures inside.

FC : How and why did you start doing light drawing photography ?
Jasper: I always wanted to do something with art, but I could not paint nor draw. At a certain moment I discovered light graffiti on the internet and became fascinated by it. This lead me to try it myself, and so I started practicing. In doing so I was discovering a lot of different techniques and styles, which resulted in my own style.
FC : How many tries does it usually take to get to the image you were hoping for ?
J : That depends on the location, as on one location it is easier to make a photo than on the other location. Usually I start by making a few pictures to get the composition and the settings right. I usually take about 15 photos on one location, but sometimes I'm only satisfied after the 50th shot. I pay a lot of attention to detail in my work and am, therefore, not easily satisfied.

FC : What are your tools or technical configuration ?
J : That depends on the location and the target object. I try to set the ISO as low as possible and set the aperture as large as possible, depending on the circumstances. I use various tools, from children's toys to LED bulbs to steel wool. This allows me to be really creative.
FC : You named your art Light Graffiti. What are your connections with the graffiti movement ?